About Social Sciences
  Undergraduate Studies
  Graduate Studies
  Events & News
  Research & Profiles
  Financial Aid
  Rice Web Site
  Contact Us
  About Social Sciences
Spires of Sewell Hall
The School of Social Sciences is the newest school at Rice and recently celebrated its 25th anniversary. It also has the smallest number of faculty of the four main schools. But despite this, it graduates the most majors of any school, with over a third of
  Rice undergraduates choosing a major in the social sciences. At the graduate level, four of our five departments have Ph.D. programs, and the fifth has a post-doc program. All of these programs achieve excellence by concentrating on select areas for education and research.

The School of Social Sciences contains five departments: Anthropology, Economics, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology. In addition, there are three interdisciplinary majors: Cognitive Sciences, Managerial Studies, and Policy Studies. Students in Cognitive Sciences are engaged in the multidisciplinary study of the mind. Managerial Studies provides an understanding of the environment in which business and other organizations exist, and of the tools used by managers. Policy Studies students learn to analyze and evaluate public policy and gain an understanding of the policy making process.

There are approximately seventy faculty in the school, and about ninety graduate students. Although the school contains only about fifteen percent of the fulltime faculty at Rice, they consistently win between a third and a half of all university-wide teaching awards.
  Get to Know...  
David Leebron
President, Rice
  David W. Leebron was appointed the seventh President of Rice University in 2004, where he is also Professor of Political Science. He grew up in Philadelphia and graduated summa cum laude from Harvard College in 1976. He attended Harvard Law School.

After graduating magna cum laude in 1979, he moved to Los Angeles where he began a career in law. He became a faculty member of the New York University School of Law in 1983, where he also served as Director of the International Legal Studies Program.

In 1989, David joined the faculty of Columbia University School of Law, and in 1996 he was appointed Dean and named the Lucy G. Moses Professor of Law.
Did You Know?...that Rice's first president, Edgar Odell Lovett, a professor of mathematics, served as the top administrator for the University from 1907 to 1946.